## **Co-ordinating Committee for International D. H. Lawrence Conferences (CCILC)**

The CCILC, established in June 1993 in Ottawa, Canada, at the 5<sup>th</sup> International D. H. Lawrence Conference, is the international body charged with authorizing international Lawrence conferences every 2-4 years. As constituted in 1993, with John Worthen as the first chair (President), its role was "to ensure the orderly and continuous planning of international conferences on the work of D. H. Lawrence." These conferences were "to nurture the ongoing international conversation about Lawrence's work" and to occur if possible "in places Lawrence himself lived and worked." CCILC members were to represent their constituencies and disseminate information about upcoming conferences. CCILC convenes at each international DHL conference to authorize a proposal for the next conference.

No record exists of a formal CCILC constitution ever being written, revised, or ratified. The CCILC was formally re-constituted before the 12<sup>th</sup> International D. H. Lawrence Conference in Sydney, at which it authorized a proposal for the 13<sup>th</sup> International DHL Conference in 2014 (Gargnano). Those listed below--serving from 2011-2014--also reviewed proposals for the 14<sup>th</sup> International DHL Conference, giving comments via email or in person during the CCILC meeting in Gargnano, at which a proposal for London 2017 was authorized.

## The membership of CCILC (representing 20 countries in 2011-14) is as follows:

- (1) **Ex-officio:** representatives of duly constituted Lawrence societies (at present, Britain, Japan, Korea, North America, Australia), of the DHL Centre at Nottingham University, and of any DHL societies that might be established in future; editors of Lawrence journals--including the *Journal of D. H. Lawrence Studies* (Britain), the *D. H. Lawrence Review* (North America), *Études Lawrenciennes* (France), and *D. H. Lawrence Studies* (Korea); executive directors of immediately past and immediately forthcoming international D. H. Lawrence conferences authorized by CCILC;
- (2) Representatives (elected or appointed by the Chair) from countries not covered by (1).

## OFFICERS 2011-14: Paul Eggert, Chair, plus Co-Executive Directors for the 2014 Conference

CCILC Members 2011-14:

Paul Eggert, Australia (CHAIR)

David Game, Australia & Conference Organizer 2011
Nancy Louise Paxton, USA & Conference Organizer 2011

Eleanor Green, Editor, DHLR

Betsy Sargent, Canada & President DHLSNA 2011 & 2012 Holly Laird, USA & President DHLSNA 2013 & 2014

Hiroshi Muto, Japan Masashi Asai, Japan

Andrew Harrison, UK & Editor JDHLS

Bethan Jones, UK

Sean Matthews, Malaysia & Conference Organizer 2007
Stefania Michelucci, Italy, Co-Executive Director 2014
Simonetta De Filippis, Italy, Co-Executive Director 2014

Sachidananda Mohanty, India
Jim Phelps, South Africa

Ginette Roy, France & Editor Études Lawrenciennes

Carol Veit, France
Dieter Mehl, Germany
Christa Jansohn , Germany

Doo-Sun Ryu, Korea & Editor D. H. Lawrence Studies

Nak-chung Paik, Korea Edina Pereira Crunfli, Brazil

Barnard E. Turner, Republic of Singapore

Lee M. Jenkins, Ireland
Marija Knezevic, Montenegro
Géza Maráczi, Hungary
Maria Aline Seabra Ferreira, Portugal
Fereshteh Zangenehpour, Sweden
Margret Gunnarsdottir Champion, Sweden
Laurence Steven, Canada

Paul Poplawski, Austria & Co-Executive Director 2014